Dipping Down White

In Costume Design, I have learned that pure white is very rarely used. It’s very bright, produces glare, and stands out unnaturally. To soften the color, the fabric is often dipped in coffee or tea. What I have learned: when dipped in coffee, it will still smell like coffee. Yum!

My serger and I are on better terms. It turns out that the tension for the lower looper was a little bit off, and everything is moving along pretty smoothly. I have also learned that when serging a starting chain, I don’t want to pull the threads off the stitch fingers because that will cause jamming as well.

I keep a cheap paintbrush with plastic bristles next to me at all times to clear away the lint. It has proven very helpful!

Leave a Reply

