Happy New Year!

I will be making some roll out sugar cookie dough from scratch today, un-iced since I have no confectioner’s sugar. My brother is having dinner tonight, but I will be working.

As for any winter projects, I have my rough, preliminary pattern for my Vincenzo Campi gown. I already have a large roll of 1/4″ reeds to stiffen the bodice, as well as a natural cotton duck for the interlining. It will be lined with a medium weight golden linen, and the outside will be a coral wool flannel. Pink was a period color!

This weekend I am busy with my accelerated course, but I still have some time for homemade cookies. I have a female and male “gingerbread” cookie cutter set, so I’m looking forward to some festive cookies.

WHAT YOU NEED:

4 cups sifted all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 and 1/2 cups of sugar
2 eggs
3/4 of a cup butter (1 and 1/2 sticks) *or “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter” if you’re lactose intolerant like me*
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

WHAT YOU DO:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a mixing bowl, stir together flour and baking powder.
In another bowl, beat butter and sugar until fluffy.
Beat in eggs and vanilla to the butter-and-sugar mixture.
Stir in the flour mixture, adding a little at a time until you have a stiff dough.
Divide the dough into 4 pieces.
Roll out the dough until it is 1/4 of an inch thick.
Cut!
Lightly grease cookie sheets.
Bake until golden. (Around 10 minutes, give or take.)
Cool completely before decorating!

I also want to make some frybread, since I have all of the ingredients on hand. Frybread is “traditional” to Native Americans. When they were moved to reservations, the US government only gave the people so many supplies, and this is what you can make with it. There are a million ways to make frybread, depending on the ingredients, the frying oil, etc. I also roughly substitute 1 cup of shortening with 1 cup of butter/margarine.

WHAT YOU NEED:

4 cups of flour
2 tablespoons of baking powder (or less)
1 teaspoon salt (or as you like it)
1/2 cup butter/margarine (or shortening)
1 cup of warm water

WHAT YOU DO:

Mix the dry ingredients.
Gradually add in the water and shortening/butter/margarine.
Add only enough water so that the dough sticks.
Knead dough until you feel like it’s done.
Separate dough into fist-sized balls.
Cover with a towel and let sit for 10 minutes.
Pat them out into circles, about pancake sized.
Fry in hot cooking oil on both sides. (Oil already heated.)
Done!
You can add powdered milk to the dry mixture if you want! Try 1/2 of a cup.

I almost forgot to mention: a cast iron skillet is the best. I’m actually looking for one myself!

Leave a Reply

