Moving On…

Midsummer Nights Dream is coming to a close soon in Philadelphia. I will be seeing the show on Sunday, May 3rd. Vicki assures me that my costumes look great, but we will see!

In the meantime, I have been hired to design, pattern, and stitch 10 togas for the band’s music video. Filming begins on May 30th in Brooklyn, NY. It is a very do-able due-date. I have yet to receive the measurements of the 10 girls from the designer, but from the looks of it, the project does not seem too difficult… (Law of the Universe says: It will be ridiculously difficult, and I will never sleep.)

Random thoughts:

I have put out several resumes as a costume stitcher and technician, but I think I might need to spend a few seasons grueling it out as a volunteer costume technician at a community theater.

Graduate plans have smoothed over. It looks like I won’t be able to hit graduate school for another few years. In the meantime, I am looking for any work and opportunities that I can get in the theater field, while looking for a full-time job with benefits.

I’m still accepted into an MFA program for Fashion Design, but I might put those plans on hold for a while. At this point, saving and working seems to be what’s going on – and I think I’ll enjoy the break. (Hopefully I can find some time to relax!)

I’ve been working out some insurance plans and whatnot for myself, so everything is still in the “brainstorming” phase of action.

I did have a moment where I got frustrated and I wanted to give up… then I looked around I thought… well, naw. No matter what I was thinking of doing with my life, I always came home at the end of the day to my sewing room. So I’ll keep doing what I’m doing and just build my way up.

A lot of jobs I see are for associate designers (which you need an MFA in) and I really do want that degree. I just don’t want to bother a sleeping giant… but I’ll see what’s going on in the Spring. I’ve scoped out insurance if I end up self-employed and it doesn’t seem too unreasonable. (Emphasis on *too*)

A lot of jobs I am qualified for are temporary, part-time, or they do not offer benefits. I will also still be working as a pharmacy technician, so together the time would be full-time but with none of the benefits. I was thinking about having an insurance plan on my own, but that gets into more complicated matters… and if I venture into the realm of self-employed, that’s opening a whole new world of taxes, laws, and bureaucracy that I just don’t know if I’m ready to face.

The complicated matter is that I already produce costumes and goods on a commissioned basis. Is this taxable? How do I know?! Have I inadvertently been shamming the IRS?! I think it’s time that somebody gets an accountant…?!

Leave a Reply

