DIY Menstrual Pads: How to Make

My neighbor, who is absolutely wonderful, gave me a bunch of fabric! I re-made a pad pattern, and took some pictures along the way.

1. Tape a disposable pad to a piece of paper, and draw around it.

2. I cut out my pattern, (without seam allowance) and folded it into quarters. I cut down on each side ½ inch, and widened the wings ½ as well. I made a sloping line from the wing to the pad, to help prevent any leaks.

3. I traced this new pattern onto another sheet of paper and ended up with a manta-ray looking pattern: (Still no seam allowance. I don’t like working with seam allowances until the very end.)

4. I then traced this pattern onto my final medium. I added a ¼ inch seam allowance.

5. I took the inside cotton liner of the disposable pad and traced around. I will probably end up straightening out the curve, and just having a rectangle. I will cut out a large rectangle four times the width of the inner liner, and fold it into fourths to sew onto the bottom shell piece.

There you have it! Super easy.

To fasten the pads, you can use hook and loop fastener tape, snaps, buttons, etc. I will probably use a snap, and maybe add a small pieces of hook and loop fastener just to be secure. I bought a Crop-o-Dile Big Bite to attach the snaps, but I haven’t used it yet. I have been debating whether or not to save for a grommet press – but we’ll see how the Crop-o-Dile does.

Leave a Reply

