Printsew.com

If you know how to work it, it works beautifully. If the planets don’t align just right – it’ll never work. Google Chrome would not work for me, and Firefox was touch and go. I had to use the latest Internet Explorer and reinstall the FileOpen plugin (from the official website, to get the latest version). After that, everything was peachy.

I don’t recommend using Printsew.com (I bought downloads from sewingpatterns.com), but if you like fiddling with technology, and it’s what you want, then go for it. Printsew.com only lets you use one computer to print from, and the printing allowances are very limited. You need to print the actual size, and it takes maybe 30 minutes to cut and paste the pattern together once it’s done. All in all, I think it’s worth it for SOME things, since it’s instant patterns, and I can print as many copies as I want.

As for printing, I would only recommend using a regular laser printer. Because the printing permissions are so sparse, it may be difficult to adjust for plotters, etc.

For the files themselves – they often are corrupted, damaged, etc. Printsew.com is a gamble.

4 thoughts on “Printsew.com

  1. Katherine says:

    I agree. I do not recommend using printsew.com
    This service was NOT instant. I had to wait several hours before getting my pattern. During that time I would have been better off driving to the local pattern store and purchasing a hard copy pattern which will last longer and does not actually have to be hand pieced together.

    Also they don’t let you save the pdf, which is inconvenient.
    On top of that I had to download specialized drivers to even view the pattern. Very clumsy setup.

  2. maureen says:

    Very frustrated with Printsew. I paid for two patterns and was hoping to spend the day making them, but I couldn’t open, had to re-configure, etc, and when I finally got it to work, I was told I had hit my “rapid print limit” and to “check back in a day or two”. I am seeing red, and am asking for my money back sonce there were no actual prints made, no prints waiting in my printer cache, etc. GRRRR!!!

  3. Irene says:

    It is very unfair to buy patterns and only be allowed to use them for a limited time. The cost is the same to buy or to download as you have to supply the paper and glue and time. If you do not set your printer Scaling box to NONE the patterns will not be true.

  4. jane says:

    I have just wasted my whole day and I mean my WHOLE day trying to download a printsew pattern that I bought. No luck and the help line aren’t being very helpful. I wouldn’t recommend this site at all. I followed all their instructions to the letter and I’m not a complete idiot on the computer.

Leave a Reply

