New Projects & Stuff

I love my new job. It’s awesome. Been keeping me busy, but it’s been awesome.

Anyway, the only thing I’ve been sewing lately is scrubs. Love my new job, but I’m still too “financially strapped” (poor) to buy any clothes, and that includes scrubs. It’s okay though, because I just made a ton of stuff including these awesome khaki pants, which was a blast and a half to work on. Nike (my brother’s doggy, black lab and german shepard mix) hung out with me every step of the way, offering happiness, and lots of fur. (Oh, shedding season…)

The Renaissance Faire opens this weekend, and it got me thinking about all the time I’ve wasted with commercial patterns from Simplicity, McCall’s, and Vogue. I truly believe that if you want to do something, don’t mess around with modern adaptations which are very often more complicated than it actually is. These patterns capture the spirit of the garment, but with modern fit. Actual historical patterns will look a lot better, will come together more smoothly, and offer a lot of technique and experience to learn. There are many pattern companies out there that offer historically accurate patterns. It’s tough to pick out the historically accurate ones from the historically inspired, but a great place to go (where I love to go!) is Lost Cost Historical Patterns. I had a great customer service experience there, and the owner dealt with me directly. These patterns are very often way more expensive, but I believe that they are a great investment – you don’t destroy them if you trace off of it, and you can have it forever. I guess I just believe in time honored, classic quality, rather than lost hours of bittered frustration over a cheap imitation. I also hit up the Great Pattern Review and Sewing Pattern Reviews, which is great, but I always take it with a grain of salt. Each review varies depending on the person’s knowledge of historical garments, level of skill at historical tailoring techniques, and overall skill level. My take on it is to just pick out what I like, have a go at it, and if it’s hard – it’s a welcomed learning experience. (If only I could apply this to other areas of my life.)

So, I’ve been a bit busy. I’m still adjusting my schedule to full-time, looking for school (I’m falling in love with McGill University in Montreal), organizing my sewing stuff, and cleaning out. I’m super excited about the sewing space. I set up my dad’s old’s printer with my computer, and my new thing is tree-free paper: http://www.ecopaper.com/catalog/paper-reams. The Bagasse sugar paper ream is $6.99, a competitive price with tree paper.  My favorite papers are from sugar cane, kenaf, and banana – you’d never it’s not made from trees. My other favorite is made from elephant poo, but it’s not refined enough to go through a printer. But it does make excellent stationary. I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

