Corset Addiction

Best thing I’ve read all day… “I normally like to use a super-fun lining layer on my corsetry to hide my shame.” -LJ: Corsetmakers.

One of my absolute role models is Mayfaire Moon Corsets & Costumes. I finally got the chance to meet her – and I love her! I was so nervous, I thought I was going to vomit all over myself somehow. I love her work, it’s very creative and original, and her craftsmanship is impeccably perfect. I’m pretty sure there were cartoon hearts floating around my head when I saw her. Hopefully with practice and passion I can have even half of her talent!

I’m trying to decide whether to use spiral steel or flat steel. I don’t know! I guess I’ll have to do some trial and error. It would be easier for me to use the spiral steel since I have the tools to cut and finish it. Hmmm. What would I do without the Corsetmakers LJ? I don’t know!

I’m making something that’s not really going to fit me extremely well, anyway. I’m actually not really sure *what* I’m doing. I might give it away to someone. I just want to practice construction techniques – and how to get a busk sewn in accurately and efficiently.

My ultimately evil goal is to get everything all tied up neatly so that I can get some sort of Steampunk ensemble going. I swore I’d never touch it because I was soooo into cyberpunk/raver/dystopian post-apocalyptic something/renaissance stuffs that it just didn’t interest me. But… I love history. And I love science fiction. And I love all kinds of stuff like that and despite my best efforts to keep it away – I have been swept up in it. I still miss the cyberpunk days, but I guess it’s one of those things… like the 80’s.

I need another theater show to work on so I can stop sitting here idle. And I need some practice!

I’d really love to get into waist training – but I’ll take it one step at a time. First I need to figure out this pattern drafting thing.

Leave a Reply

