Burnout

I realize that I have disappeared from the face of the earth. Well, actually, reality. There was some major burnout – my body had reached its quota for science and science-y stuffity-doos. My brain rebelled. My spirit finally said – enough! Apparently, I really do need to find a way to incorporate my love of the arts into my career – or else I lose it. Big time. Not only have I withdrawn from school, I am soon-to-be-unemployed. However, there is some light at the end of my poverty-stricken tunnel. I am looking at graduate schools for costume design/theater production, art therapy, and stuff. (That’s my favorite phrase – “stuff”.) And I have student teaching next semester (which explains my pending unemployment.) I already have no money… so I am very worried about how I am going to make it through the next few months. it shouldn’t be too bad. I currently live at home, but I am in a bridal party, and no one told me how expensive this baloney was.

In other news, I am happily exploring my love for textiles and fiber. I am learning and experimenting with the weaving process, and hope to move onto knitting looms/boards. I love the look of knit, but my hands do not love it. Weaving on a loom has been a very comfortable and cathartic process, so I am hoping that the same can be said of the knitting loom.

One thing that amazes me is how people can have money to go to the store and buy new clothing. Wow. I either make it or get it second-hand/thrift. You lucky ducks, you. I am really hoping that some of my goods sell while I am student teaching, since I will not be working. If anyone knows of any craft fairs/places-I-can-sell-handmade-goods let me know!

My dream is to have a little alpaca/angora farm. Maybe llamas, too. If I don’t die from all of the adorable-ness, I’ll have a nice little fiber farm. Maybe i’ll breed some cats, too.

Other than having no money, life is going okay. I’m excited about starting a life with Ron. I’m super worried about my uncertain career path. I think… well, I’m hoping… that this is normal.

So anyway, to wrap up, I have been trying to keep my wits about me, find a way to earn some money through my seamstress-ing ways, keep myself out of debt, and apply for some graduate programs.

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

